You are currently viewing Is Jesus vegan? Was Jesus a pescatarian?

Is Jesus vegan? Was Jesus a pescatarian?

All sorts of information are spreading about how the Lord would have fed Himself during His 33 years on earth. It is claimed that Jesus was a vegan. Others argue that He was a vegetarian, and another claims that He was a pescetarian.

Jesus is not a vegan because he also ate fish (even if it has cold blood, it is considered meat). Even if the Savior ate vegetables and rice, that does not mean he was vegan. Most of the foods he ate were the fruits of the earth, wheat, grains, vegetables, and naturally grown fruit. Jesus’ diet was based on many healthy vegetables. Jesus was a pescetarian, an argument supported by Scripture itself. At the feast of fish and bread, Jesus also ate the miracle He performed.

There are verses in the Bible where products like fish, honeycomb, bread, and wine are mentioned. ​Jesus and the apostles are said to have been vegetarians. And even have kept a diet nowadays called raw vegan. In the Evangel of Christ, it is written: And they still did not believe for joy and marveled, and he said to them: Have you here anything to eat? And they gave Him a piece of fried fish and a honeycomb.

Was Jesus a vegan or vegetarian?

When asked about the morality of killing animals for meat, the answer given by self-styled Christians is almost always the same: The Bible teaches that man is master over animals and that killing them for meat or for any other purpose to serve man is permissible. An essential biblical fact taught over the years is abstaining from eating meat and animal products except for fish.

According to Bible records, Jesus was neither a vegan nor a vegetarian because He ate fish meat with his disciples.

When he sends his disciples out to preach, the Savior allows them to eat everything: Into whatever city you enter, and they receive you, eat what they set before you. And after his resurrection, to assure them that he was not a spirit and that He had flesh and bones, He asked the apostles for something to eat, receiving a piece of fried fish and a honeycomb. And taking it, He ate before them. This gesture is repeated on the occasion of the second excellent catch of fish. This time, Jesus came and took the bread and gave it to them and the fish.

Why was Jesus not a vegan?

In many verses, animals are used to reflect the righteousness of the attributes and even God Himself. Numerous passages refer to Jesus as the Lamb of God. Mark records that the Holy Spirit appeared as a dove: When Jesus came up out of the water. He saw heaven opening and the Holy Spirit descending to the Lord as a dove.

Jesus was not vegan because he ate products that came from animals, eating honeycomb and roasted fish.

Some experts claim that the Saviour was a vegetarian. At the same time, others claim the opposite, according to the findings of the Bible. Vegetables were prepared in all sorts of ways. Just as they are nowadays. What is certain is that there was moderation in everything, and the menu was diverse enough to give the body the perfect balance. In those days, there were almonds, grapes, figs, dates, walnuts, pistachios, and apples.

What foods did Jesus eat?

There is no clear writing about Jesus’ menu or diet then, but one can assume what he would have eaten given the produce available. The fruit was eaten fresh as well as dried. His diet might also have included legumes, beans, chickpeas, lentils, vegetables, spices, cinnamon, hyssop, caraway, and dill. Animal meat, eggs, and fish meat that was cooked, roasted, boiled, or salted with brine. As there were also animals on the farms, the menu could include milk and dairy products.

According to biblical accounts, Jesus ate: fried fish, cashews, figs, lentils, rice and barley, bread, and dairy products. Jesus’ life on earth was modest, and so was his diet.

The variety of vegetables and fruits in the diet, all fresh, olive oil, and lean meats, made up a healthy diet. The products of the earth were the medicine of the time. Each of the foods had and has benefits for the body.

Key Verse related to Jesus’ diet

The Son of Man has come eating and drinking, and you say, ‘Behold, a gluttonous man and a drunkard, a friend of tax collectors and sinners.

Luke 7:34 (NIV)

is jesus a vegan

Did God give us animals for food?

The Bible implores us to produce fruit by our own will. Virtually the entire New Testament is based on the idea that, as holy members of the body of Christ, which has enjoyed the Lord’s mercy, Christians are called to live as godly and righteous a life as they possibly can. Eating fatty meat is the worst way imaginable for our bodies and the planet. It destroys both, and just as significantly, it induces the most immeasurable agony in the lives of the innocent animals God created.

The Bible clearly states that God did not give us animals to eat; Noah brought them into the new age to evolve and multiply.

From Genesis’ description of the Garden of Eden and Isaiah’s description of God’s eternal kingdom, we note God’s desire for a world without killing. Genesis says: And God said, Behold, I have given you every plant that bears seed, which is on the face of the whole earth, and every tree with seed-bearing fruit in it: this shall be your food. And to all the beasts of the earth, all the birds of the air, and all the living creatures that move upon the world, which have the breath of life, I have given the green plant for food.

Primary Takeaways

  • Over the years, many people have wondered what Jesus Christ ate while he lived on earth. Many experts have searched and found passages to decipher the Bible to see if any courses are talking about food at that time.
  • Most of the foods eaten during the Savior’s time were the fruits of the earth, such as wheat, grains, fruits, and naturally grown vegetables. Jesus’ diet, and that of other people, was based on fresh vegetables, as there were no refrigerators then. Some verses in the Bible mention that Jesus and his apostles ate a lot of grain bread, wine, and honeycomb.
  • Food is an act that can bring us closer to or farther from God and our fellow human beings. In itself, any ascetic performance or self-denial means nothing.


The people of the time when Jesus Christ lived had a clean, primarily plant-based diet. In that part of the world, lentils, whole grains, fruit, vegetables, dates, nuts, and fish were all quite popular. For snacks, some people even ate locusts and crickets. All these foods had good nutritional value and were tasty, without excess fat or cholesterol.